Ensemble and Audition Opportunities

Student Arts at UR

Learn more about private music lessons and ensemble and audition opportunities in the Department of Music and the Department of Theatre and Dance.

Music Ensembles  

Nearly 200 students enroll each semester in faculty-led ensembles, which are open to all student musicians regardless of major. Students can receive academic credit for participating and can fulfill the FSVP general education requirement by successfully completing two semesters in the same 0.5-unit ensemble. Opportunities include the University Symphony Orchestra, University Band (Wind Ensemble), Chamber Ensembles, Jazz Groups, Choirs (Schola Cantorum mixed-voice; Women’s Chorale), and Global Ensembles (Taiko Drumming, West African Drumming, Gamelan).

Instrumental Ensembles

University Symphony Orchestra (strings only this semester)
•  Mr. Alexander Kordzaia, conductor (akordzai@richmond.edu).
•  Rehearses Tuesdays from 7-9 PM in Camp Concert Hall and Thursdays from 7-8 PM in Booker Hall BB-016.

University Band
•  Mr. Steven Barton, conductor (sbarton@richmond.edu)
•  Rehearses Mondays from 7-9 PM in Camp Concert Hall.

Chamber Ensembles
•  Dr. Joanne Kong, coordinator (jkong@richmond.edu)
•  Ensembles meet Mondays from 6:30-8:30 PM in Booker Hall BB-016

Guitar Ensemble
•  Mr. Kevin Harding, director (khardin2@richmond.edu)

Jazz Groups 
•  Jazz Ensemble and Little Big Band – contact Dr. Davison (mdavison@richmond.edu) for details.
•  Swing Ensemble – contact Dr. Esleck (desleck@richmond.edu) for details. 

Vocal Ensembles

Schola Cantorum (mixed-voice chamber choir)
•  Dr. Jeffrey Riehl, conductor (jriehl@richmond.edu)
•  Rehearses Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 4:40-5:40 PM in North Court 124

Women's Chorale
•  Mr. David Pedersen, conductor (dpederse@richmond.edu)
•  Rehearses Mondays and Wednesdays from 5:45-7 PM in North Court 124
•  Watch a Women's Chorale performance

Musical Theatre and Opera Scenes Workshop
•  Dr. Jennifer Cable, coordinator (jcable@richmond.edu)
•  This course is offered when student interest warrants it. Contact Dr. Cable for information.

Jazz Ensembles

Jazz Ensemble
•  
Dr. Mike Davison, director (mdavison@richmond.edu)
•  Rehearses Tuesdays from 6-8 PM in Booker Hall BB-002

Little Big Band
•  Dr. Mike Davison, director (mdavison@richmond.edu)
•  Rehearses Thursdays from 4:30-6:30 PM in Booker Hall BB-002

Swing Combo
•  Dr. David Esleck, director 9 (desleck@richmond.edu)
•  Rehearses Thursdays from 12 noon-1:15 PM in Booker Hall BB-002

Global Ensembles

Brazilian Combo
•  Mr. Kevin Harding, director (khardin2@richmond.edu)

West African Drumming
•  Contact Mr. Rod Davis (rdavis6@richmond.edu)
•  Meets Wednesdays from 5:30-6:45 PM in Booker Hall BB-002

Taiko Drumming
•  Mr. Alasdair Denvil, director (adenvil@richmond.edu)
•  Meets Mondays from 5:30-:46 PM in Booker Hall BB-002

Gamelan
•  Dr. Andy McGraw, director (amcgraw@richmond.edu)

Popular Music/Technology Ensemble
•  
MSEN 100: Beginning Performance Laboratory

Private Music Lessons  

Private lessons in voice, keyboard, band/orchestral instruments, guitar, electric and upright bass, and drum set are offered every semester for academic credit (0.5 units). Learn more about this opportunity and how to submit a private lesson request. 

Theatre & Dance Productions  

The Department of Theatre & Dance is a home for collaboration and creativity. Students whose interest is either avocational or pre-professional are welcome in classes and to work on our productions in any number of ways. Each year, the Department produces four faculty led theatre productions that often feature professional artists in residence. Also, the department produces the annual concert of the University Dancers that features some of the nation’s leading choreographers. In addition to these productions, student theatre groups produce performances throughout the academic year.

Watch Theatre & Dance Performances

Theatre Performance Auditions  

Auditions are held throughout the year and are publicized throughout the campus community.

University Dancers 

Students in this auditioned student dance company study a variety of dance and movement techniques such as African, ballet, contemporary, hip-hop, jazz, modern, and non-traditional partnering in company classes (three per week), master classes, and rehearsals. Students receive academic credit for participating in University Dancers. The University Dancers perform one main stage concert every spring and there are often additional performance opportunities throughout the academic year. Watch University Dancers' 35th Anniversary Dance Concert.